Merdeka Awards Announced

The Merdeka Award

Merdeka Awards Announced

Merdeka Award was founded in 2007 by PETRONAS, ExxonMobil and Shell. This award, of which the patron is the Prime Minister,  is an enduring contribution to the people of Malaysia, demonstrating and renewing the commitment of the oil and gas industry to the growth and development of the country. The awards for this year have been announced.

Merdeka award recipients for this year are mentioned below:

Datuk Mohd Nor Khalid (cartoonist Lat) for Education and Community, Datuk Dr Choo Yuen May for Health, Science and Technology, Datuk Seri Dr Gathorne Gathorne-Hardy, Fifth Earl of Cranbrook for Outstanding Contribution To The People of Malaysia, Mohd Khan Momin Khan for Environment and Prof Dr Abdul Latif Ahmad and Prof Dr Ahmad Fauzi Ismail (joint recipients) for Outstanding Scholastic Achievement.

Check Out The Winners For Last Year

According to sources, Merdeka awards will be distributed by the Patron of the Merdeka Award, the Prime Minister of Malaysia, at an event which will be held next month. The eligibility for the award is that the person should be a Malaysian living citizen. The winners are selected by a panel of five members which are selected in every three years.

Apart from the trophy and the logo as awards, the recipient also receives a Work of Art designed by renowned Malaysian artist, Latiff Mohidin. The rotating ball symbolises freedom. The sculpture rests on a granite base, which denotes strength and fortitude. The piece also incorporates the traditional elements of Sulur Bayur, underscoring heritage and Pucuk Rebung, signifying excellence.